Logged in just now and got a pop-up message saying my account name had been changed to Redacted and a bunch of random numbers? Message said that it was most likely due to 1)signing in for the first time or 2)linking a new account. I have not linked any new accounts in years, no new accounts appear linked in my profile, and I have had this account for years and signed in hundreds of times before. I have played with the same tag since Destiny 1 and it has been the same since Bungie names were introduced. Is there some way it can be restored? Or do I just have to change my name now?
-
Hi there, When a name is reset to 'Redacted####' it means Bungie reviewed a report and determined that the original name violated the [url=https://www.bungie.net/7/en/Legal/CodeOfConduct]Code of Conduct[/url] or [url=https://safety.bungie.net/hc/en-us/articles/42346232056084-Bungie-Name-Guide?_ga=2.19907771.2062425294.1787581994-1054953281.1771597240]Bungie Name Policy[/url]. As a result, the name was filtered and can no longer be used. If you haven’t already changed your name before, you can try selecting a new one. However, if the system doesn’t allow further changes, there’s unfortunately no way to bypass that restriction.
-
4 RepliesHey there, the message you receive in-game is misleading; a name reset to 'Redacted' means your name has been reported, manually reviewed by Bungie, and reset to a default due to a code of conduct violation. There is no 'your name got moderated' message, you just get the cross play name change message instead.